Predictive
Quality

‎On this page you will learn how you can use predictive quality methods to speed up processes, reduce workload and at the same time save costs.‎

‎The current quality management situation in many companies‎

‎In many companies, the workload, and costs for quality increase. Many quality problems and quality-related costs arise due to a lack of data, either because the data is not available early enough or it’s not used.‎

‎The costs caused by products with insufficient quality are already between 10% and 15% of operating costs in companies with a solid business (source: ‎‎PwC‎‎). And in many companies, costs continue to rise, so it is more important than ever to detect errors at an early stage and to remedy them through product or process improvements.‎

‎There have long been impressive examples of companies that successfully implemented these new possibilities and methods in practice. In most cases, these ‎‎manufacturing companies‎‎ achieve a reliable product- and process-related increase in quality with a data-driven prediction and at the same time reduce costs. These methods are part of “Predictive Quality”.‎

What is Predictive Quality?

‎With the help of predictive quality, you can make the right decisions to improve products and processes in an early stage. Predictive quality consolidates relevant information from different sources. This provides you with valuable insights based on your data. With the help of the Predictive Quality methods, you can evaluate large amounts of data quickly, efficiently and profitably. Innovative technologies such as machine learning are applied and in combination with proven procedures and methods from QM, you gain valuable from these new insights which will help you to decide faster and more precisely.‎

‎The four stages of data analysis‎

‎Basically, a difference is made between four different phases of data analysis, some of which build on each other: Descriptive Analytics, Diagnostic Analytics, Predictive Analytics and Prescriptive Analytics.

 

What is Descriptive Analytics?

This procedure describes the interpretation of historical data with the aim of building up a better understanding of a process that lies in the past. The knowledge generated can be used to create and evaluate key figures.

What is Diagnostic Analytics?

Diagnostic analytics aims to identify cause-and-effect relationships between specific events based on historical data. It describes a backward-looking view with which the aim is to identify causes. It involves data from a point in time that can no longer be influenced, which means that the focus is exclusively on historical events.

What is Predictive Analytics?

The focus of predictive analytics is on the observation of events that will occur in the future with a certain probability. Future events or states are forecast on the basis of this data.

What is Prescriptive Analytics?

Prescriptive analytics enables conclusions for the automation of decisions and measures – based on the findings of the forecast models. Each stage of data analysis aims to enable the user to act prescriptively – to influence processes in a targeted manner. The differentiation is based on the knowledge with which the information is made available to the user.

How common is the general use of data analytics?

Laut McKinsey Global Institute (MGI) sind in der industriellen Fertigung nur etwa 20 bis 30 Prozent des Potenzials in der Anwendung von Data Analytics Methoden ausgeschöpft.

 

Which areas are in focus when using predictive quality?

The few companies that already use predictive quality applications and methods today often use them to …

  • make production planning more efficient
  • increase compliance with deadlines and delivery capability,
  • achieve improved process transparency and productivity gains,
  • Improve quoting and procurement
  • achieve optimized service operations.

Predictive Quality with QDA

Analyse Data

Live and historical production data from ERP, MES and quality systems are analyzed to identify patterns and trends.

Prediction of Quality  

Prediction in real time by identifying and monitoring processes that have previously resulted in failures.

Preventing quality defects

Prevent quality defects with real-time alerts that allow workers to proactively adjust process parameters to increase first-pass productivity and ensure quality parameters are met.

Optimize the resource utilization

QDA tools help you predict reject rates and initiate the appropriate quality improvement measures in an early stage.

Quick isolation of defects

Quickly isolate defects by determining when and where defects occurred in the production process to limit the total number of parts scrapped or to prevent batch related, serial number related field failures

Warn Teams

Notify workers and supervisors of potential quality issues with adequate time to proactively address them.

Simple examples of Predictive Quality as part of the democratization of QM – involves all levels and delivers value in each case

Quality manager

By using Predictive Quality, the quality manager simultaneously extend the automation of his processes. From taking over the analysis to recommending measures, Predictive Quality supports the quality manager in his core tasks. This saves time, which the quality manager can use for higher-value tasks and / or the discussion and follow-up of measures with, for example, the plant or shift management (in the digital factory).

Plant manager and production planner

Plant managers and production planners have predictive quality data in a very early stage to adjust their production.

For Worker

solutions can be developed that enable him to make informed, rapid decisions – turning him into a “connected worker”. The basis for these is information and instructions that are based on current data.

Decision-makers in sales and logistics

receive valuable quality forecast data at an early stage in the event of anticipated changes in the quality level. This means that customers can be informed about delays at an early stage or logistical measures can be rescheduled accordingly.

Predictive Quality Example: Decision Automation – Cognitive Reasoning

Approx. 68% less effort in NCM classification through predictive analytics. This involves the processing of complaints using speech recognition / natural language processing (NLP for short) and machine learning.

In the first step a complaint is received (e.g. directly from the customer). The NLP technology “reads” and “understands” the complaint, categorizes the complaint via machine learning on the basis of predefined classes, which determine the process applied in the following. In the process, the correct assignment of the classes improves with each case as the algorithm learns.

In the next step, the system again uses machine learning technology to automatically suggest refunds to customers. For unique cases, fully automated decision making can be performed. In this case, the use of the technologies saves approximately 68% of the process costs related to these two process steps.

The benefits from using this method at a glance:

  • Process costs reduced by 68%
  • Process cycle times for fully automated decisions reduced by 98%
  • Increased customer satisfaction

Conclusion: You get a continuously growing number of happy and satisfied customers and the repurchase rate and sales increase.

Predictive Quality Example: Intelligent image recognition in automotive engineering

Saving 5-6 minutes per vehicle produced by using machine learning and OCR technology for visual inspection.

Image data recognition is used in the process of visual inspection during assembly. The images of a component are compared in milliseconds with hundreds of other images from the same sequence.  The system detects deviations from the standard, e.g. parts that are incorrectly positioned or mounted or missing.

Example – Synchronization with inspection plan

Inspection 1: Automatic inspection of the nameplate

Test 2: Selected screws in the engine compartment

Images are captured automatically with fixed cameras or on a case-by-case basis by the employee. Distance, angle and light have little effect on AI evaluations, which reveal within fractions of a second whether everything is in place or not.

The AI system is trained by employees. The employee supports the system if the image recognition and/or evaluation does not come to a clear result. Thus, the algorithm is trained further and the error-free image recognition becomes better and better over time. The evaluations are fully automatic and the system decides for itself whether a part meets all specifications or not.

Advantages:

  • Automation saves approx. 5 minutes per vehicle
  • More accurate analysis and fewer errors in the process
  • Faster process cycle time

This example also results in higher quality and promotes customer satisfaction – customers are more likely to remain loyal to the brand and make recommendations.

 

QDA helps you to identify your possibilities via predictive quality methods, to optimize the quality in advance and to save costs directly or to avoid them in the first place.

Contact us, we will be happy to start a free Predictive Quality Assessment with you to analyze if and how Predictive Quality can be used in your company.

More about the Democratization of QM

Democratization of your quality management

More about the Digital Factory

The Digital Factory

Get in touch!

Do you have specific questions about our solutions? Get in touch!

Michael Gadau
Director QDA SOLUTIONS

Predictive
Quality

Auf dieser Seite erfahren Sie, wie Sie Predictive Quality Methoden anwenden können, um Prozesse zu beschleunigen, Aufwand zu reduzieren und gleichzeitig Kosten zu sparen.

Die aktuelle Situation im Qualitätsmanagement vieler Unternehmen

In vielen Unternehmen steigt der Aufwand und die Kosten für Qualität. Viele Qualitätsprobleme und qualitätsbezogene Kosten entstehen aufgrund fehlender Daten, entweder weil sie nicht früh genug bekannt sind oder nicht richtig genutzt werden.

Die Kosten, welche durch Produkte mit unzureichender Qualität verursacht werden, liegen in Unternehmen mit solider Geschäftslage bereits zwischen 10 und 15 Prozent der Betriebskosten (Quelle: PwC). Und in vielen Unternehmen steigen die Kosten weiter, daher gilt es, mehr denn je, Fehler frühzeitig zu erkennen und durch Produkt- oder Prozessverbesserungen zu beheben.

Es gibt längst eindrucksvolle Beispiele von Unternehmen, die diese neuen Möglichkeiten und Methoden erfolgreich in der Praxis anwenden. In den meisten Fällen erreichen diese Fertigungsunternehmen, mit einer datengetriebenen Vorhersage, eine zuverlässige produkt- und prozessbezogenen Qualitätssteigerung und senken gleichzeitig damit die Kosten. Diese Methoden sind Teil von „Predictive Quality“.

Was ist Predictive Quality?

Mithilfe von Predictive Quality, schaffen Sie es, die richtigen Entscheidungen zu fällen, um Produkte und Prozesse rechtzeitig zu verbessern. Predictive Quality konsolidiert relevante Informationen unterschiedlicher Quellen. Daraus werden Ihnen innovative Perspektiven auf Ihre Daten zur Verfügung gestellt. So werten Sie mithilfe der Methode Predictive Quality große Datenmengen schnell, effizient und gewinnbringend aus. Dabei werden innovative Technologien wie Machine Learning angewendet und in Kombination mit bewährten Vorgehensweisen und Methoden aus dem QM gewinnen Sie wertvolle neue Erkenntnisse, die Ihnen helfen schneller und sicherer zu entscheiden.

Die vier Stufen der Datenanalyse

Prinzipiell unterscheidet man zwischen vier unterschiedlichen, teilweise aufeinander aufbauenden Stufen der Datenanalyse: Descriptive Analytics, Diagnostic Analytics, Predictive Analytics und Prescriptive Analytics.

 

Was ist Descriptive Analytics?

Dieses Verfahren beschreibt die Interpretation historischer Daten mit dem Ziel, ein besseres Verständnis eines in der Vergangenheit liegenden Prozesses aufzubauen. Das generierte Wissen lässt sich zur Erstellung und Auswertung von Kennzahlen nutzen.

Was ist Diagnostic Analytics?

Diagnostic Analytics hat zum Ziel, auf Basis historischer Daten Wirkbeziehungen zwischen bestimmten Ereignissen zu ermitteln. Es beschreibt einen rückwärts gerichteten Blick, mit dem eine Ursachenfindung angestrebt wird. Es geht dabei um Daten aus von einem nicht mehr beeinflussbaren Zeitpunkt, das bedeutet, der Fokus liegt ausschließlich auf historische Vorkommnissen.

Was ist Predictive Analytics?

Der Fokus von Predictive Analytics liegt auf der Betrachtung von zukünftig mit einer bestimmten Wahrscheinlichkeit eintretenden Ereignissen. Auf Basis dieser Daten werden zukünftige Ereignisse oder Zustände prognostiziert.

Was ist Prescriptive Analytics?

Prescriptive Analytics ermöglicht Ableitungen für die Automation von Entscheidungen und Maßnahmen – aufbauend auf den Erkenntnissen der Prognosemodelle. Hierbei zielt jede Stufe der Datenanalyse darauf ab, den Anwender zu präskriptivem Handeln – zu einer zielgerichteten Beeinflussung von Prozessen – zu befähigen. Die Unterscheidung liegt im Wissensgehalt, mit dem die Informationen dem Anwender zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Wie verbreitet ist die generelle Anwendung von Data Analytics?

Laut McKinsey Global Institute (MGI) sind in der industriellen Fertigung nur etwa 20 bis 30 Prozent des Potenzials in der Anwendung von Data Analytics Methoden ausgeschöpft.

 

Welche Bereiche stehen beim Einsatz von Predictive Quality im Fokus?

Die wenigen Unternehmen, die heute bereits Predictive Quality Anwendungen und Methoden nutzen, setzen diese häufig ein, um …

  • die Produktionsplanung effizienter zu machen,
  • die Termintreue und Lieferfähigkeit zu steigern,
  • eine verbesserte Prozesstransparenz und Produktivitätssteigerungen zu erreichen,
  • die Angebotserstellung und Beschaffung zu verbessern
  • optimierte Serviceeinsätze zu erzielen.

Predictive Quality mit QDA

Daten analysieren

Live- und historische Produktionsdaten aus ERP-, MES- und Qualitätssystemen werden analysiert, um Muster und Trends zu erkennen.

Qualität vorhersagen 

Qualitätsvorhersage in Echtzeit durch Identifizierung und Überwachung von Prozessen, die zuvor zu Fehlern geführt haben.

Verhindern von Qualitätsmängeln

Verhindern Sie Qualitätsmängel durch Echtzeitwarnungen, die es den Bedienern ermöglichen, die Prozessparameter proaktiv anzupassen, um die Produktivität beim ersten Durchgang zu erhöhen und die Einhaltung der Qualitätsparameter zu gewährleisten.

Optimieren des Materialeinsatzes

Die QDA Tools helfen Ihnen bei der Vorhersage der Ausschussraten, die entsprechenden qualitätssteigernden Maßnahmen rechtzeitig zu initiieren.

Schnelles Isolieren von Defekten

Isolieren Sie Defekte schnell, indem Sie feststellen, wann und wo im Produktionsprozess Defekte aufgetreten sind, um die Gesamtzahl der verschrotteten Teile zu begrenzen oder um Chargen bezogene, Seriennummern bezogene Feldausfälle zu verhindern (Traceability).

Teams warnen

Benachrichtigen Sie Werker und Vorgesetzte über potenzielle Qualitätsmängel mit genügend Vorlaufzeit, um sie proaktiv zu beheben.

Einfache Beispiele für Predictive Quality als Teil der Demokratisierung des QM – involviert alle Ebenen und liefert Mehrwerte

Qualitätsmanager

Mit dem Einsatz von Predictive Quality baut der Qualitätsmanager gleichzeitig die Automation seiner Prozesse aus. Angefangen bei der Übernahme der Analyse bis hin zur Empfehlung von Maßnahmen unterstützt Predictive Quality den Qualitätsmanager in seinem Kernaufgabengebiet. So wird wertvolle Zeit eingespart, die der Qualitätsmanager für höherwertige Aufgaben und / oder die Diskussion und Nachverfolgung der Maßnahmen mit z. B. der Werk- oder Schichtleitung (in der Digitalen Fabrik) verwenden kann.

Werksleiter und Fertigungsplaner

Werksleitern und Fertigungsplanern stehen frühzeitig vorausschauende Qualitätsdaten zur Verfügung, um ihre Produktion anzupassen.

Für Worker

können Lösungen entwickelt werden, die ihm fundierte, schnelle Entscheidungen ermöglichen – die ihn zum „Connected Worker“ machen. Die Grundlage für diese Lösungen stellen Informationen und Anweisungen dar, die auf aktuellen Daten basieren.


Entscheider in Vertrieb und Logistik

erhalten frühzeitig wertvolle Quality Prognosedaten bei voraussichtlichen Veränderungen des Qualitätsgrades. Das bedeutet, Kunden können frühzeitig über Verzögerungen informiert oder logistische Maßnahmen entsprechend neu geplant werden.

Predictive Quality Beispiel: Entscheidungsautomation – “Cognitive Reasoning”

Ca. 68 % weniger Aufwand bei der NCM-Klassifizierung durch Predictive Analytics. Hier handelt es sich um die Bearbeitung von Reklamationen mittels Spracherkennung / Natural Language Processing (kurz NLP) und Machine Learning.

Zunächst wird eine Reklamation entgegengenommen (z. B. direkt vom Kunden). Die NLP Technologie „liest“ und „versteht“ die Reklamation, kategorisiert via Machine Learning die Reklamation auf der Grundlage vordefinierter Klassen, die den im Folgenden angewandten Prozess bestimmen. Dabei wird die korrekte Zuordnung der Klassen mit jedem Fall besser, da der Algorithmus dazulernt.

Im nächsten Schritt schlägt das System wiederum mittels Machine Learning Technologie Rückerstattungen an Kunden automatisch vor. Bei eindeutigen Fällen kann eine vollständig automatisierte Entscheidungsfindung vorgenommen werden. Der Einsatz der Technologien spart in diesem Fall ca. 68 % der Prozesskosten bezogen auf diese beiden Prozessschritte ein.

Die Vorteile aus dem Einsatz dieser Methode im Überblick:

  • Prozesskosten um 68 % reduziert
  • Prozessdurchlaufzeiten für vollständig automatisierte Entscheidungen um 98 % reduziert
  • Erhöhte Kundenzufriedenheit

Fazit: Sie erhalten hiermit eine kontinuierlich wachsende Anzahl an glücklichen und zufriedenen Kunden und die Wiederkaufrate und Umsätze steigen.

Predictive Quality Beispiel: Intelligente Bilderkennung im Automobilbau

Einsparung von 5-6 Minuten pro produziertem Fahrzeug durch den Einsatz von Machine Learning  und OCR-Technologie bei der Sichtprüfung.

Im Prozess der visuellen Inspektion während der Montage wird eine Bilddatenauswertung eingesetzt. Die Bilder eines Bauteils werden in Millisekunden mit Hunderten anderer Bilder aus der gleichen Sequenz verglichen. Das System erkennt Abweichungen von der Norm, z. B. Teile, die falsch positioniert oder montiert sind oder fehlen.

Beispiel – Synchronisierung mit Prüfplan

Prüfung 1: Automatische Prüfung des Typenschilds

Prüfung 2: Ausgewählte Schrauben im Motorraum

Die Bilder werden automatisch mit fest installierten Kameras oder fallweise vom Mitarbeiter aufgenommen. Entfernung, Winkel und Licht haben kaum Auswirkungen auf KI-Auswertungen, die innerhalb von Sekundenbruchteilen offenbaren, ob alles an seinem Platz ist oder nicht.

Das KI-System wird von Mitarbeitern trainiert. Der Mitarbeiter unterstützt das System, sofern die Bilderkennung und/oder Auswertung nicht zu einem eindeutigen Ergebnis kommt. Somit wird der Algorithmus weiter trainiert und die fehlerfreie Bilderkennung wird kontinuierlich besser. Die Auswertungen erfolgen vollautomatisch und das System entscheidet selbst, ob ein Teil alle Spezifikationen erfüllt oder nicht.

Vorteile:

  • Die Automatisierung spart ca. 5 Minuten pro Fahrzeug
  • Genauere Analyse und weniger Fehler im Prozess
  • Schnellere Prozessdurchlaufzeit

Auch dieses Beispiel führt zu höherer Qualität und fördert die Kundenzufriedenheit – die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass Kunden der Marke treu bleiben und Empfehlungen aussprechen steigt.

 

QDA hilft Ihnen über Predictive Quality Methoden, Ihre Potenziale zu identifizieren, die Qualität damit vorausschauend zu optimieren und Kosten unmittelbar einzusparen bzw. gar nicht erst entstehen zu lassen.

Kontaktieren Sie uns, wir starten gerne ein kostenfreies Predictive Quality Assessment mit Ihnen, um zu analysieren, ob und wie Predictive Quality auch bei Ihnen eingesetzt werden kann.

Mehr zum Thema Demokratisierung des QM

Demokratisierung des Qualitätsmanagements

Mehr zum Thema Digitale Fabrik

Digitale Fabrik

Nehmen Sie persönlich Kontakt mit mir auf!

Sie haben konkrete Fragen zu unseren Lösungen? Schreiben Sie mir gerne über das Kontaktformular.

Profilbild von Michael Gadau

Michael Gadau
Director QDA SOLUTIONS